Home Affairs Visa free travel SA

Getting ready to plan your 2018 holiday destinations? Here are the 94 countries you can travel to on a South African Passport without a Visa.


Travel Goals are all the rage and who doesn’t like a free entry into a country? Avoiding painful queues and interviews at Embassies and forking out tons of cash before you even get into the country is so last year! So we have compiled a list of countries that South Africans can visit without a visa or you can apply for a visa upon arrival.

“To travel is to discover that everyone is wrong about other countries” – Aldous Huxley

Starting alphabetically these are the 94 visa-free countries you can visit and below that, the countries with visa’s on arrival. Let us know which destinations are on your list?

Visa-Free Travel Destinations:

  • Angola
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • The Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Fiji
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Kosovo
  • Lesotho
  • Macao
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Micronesia
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nicaragua
  • Palestinian Territories
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar (Visa waiver on arrival)
  • Russian Federation
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Senegal
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Visa on Arrival Travel Destinations:

  • Armenia
  • Bolivia
  • Cambodia (also available with eVisa)
  • Cape Verde
  • Comoros
  • Djibouti
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Ghana
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Iran
  • Jordan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Madagascar
  • Maldives
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Palau
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Seychelles (Visitors Permit)
  • Tajikistan (also available with eVisa)
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Turkey (also available with eVisa)
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda

So what are you waiting for? Start saving, the world is your oyster but always remember, there is no place like home!

Sources: Passport Index
Have something to add to this story? Share it in the comments or follow GoodThingsGuy on Facebook & Twitter to keep up to date with good news as it happens.
Good Things Guy have recently launched their new VLOG bringing you all the GOOD THINGS on a weekly show. Watch this week’s edition below:

Facebook Comments

Tyler Vivier
About the Author

Tyler Leigh Vivier is a writer for Good Things Guy.

Her passion is to spread good news across South Africa with a big focus on environmental issues, animal welfare and social upliftment. Outside of Good Things Guy, she is an avid reader and lover of tea.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *