Women's Rugby
Photo Credit: Shared by SA Rugby

An epic move for women’s rugby! World Rugby has launched a new international tournament for women, and South Africa is set to play host.


South Africa (07 May, 2023)—Women’s rugby is getting a brighter spotlight thanks to a new international competition.

Get ready to rally together South Africa, because we’re set to host it!

According to SA Rugby, the new tournament will be an added incentive for the Springbok Women in their African Cup Campaign, as they’ll need to win the Africa Cup tournament to qualify.

Still, playing host to one of the three WXV tournaments is a fantastic moment for Mzansi and women empowerment; two things we’re always here for.

Epically, this year will mark two international hosting eras for South Africa focused on women, with the Netball World Cup taking place in July.

“It’s massive for the women’s game and we can only commend World Rugby for designing and funding the competition where the top 18 teams in the world will get more competitive games to play, and I have no doubt that it is going to drive the standard of the game.

“It will also give our national team at least three more competitive Tests every year and this time around, it will provide a good build-up to the 2024 season, which will be the next Rugby World Cup qualification cycle. More games will make us more competitive and hopefully improve our world ranking.”—Lynne Cantwell, SA Rugby’s High-Performance Manager for Women’s Rugby. 

“WXV is the flagship of the competitions pillar of our accelerating the global growth of women in rugby strategy. It is more than a world-class competition, it is a statement of intent, a vehicle to supercharge the reach, competitiveness and value of elite women’s rugby and growing rugby more broadly, projecting the sport to new audiences in new markets.”—Sally Horrox, World Rugby Chief of Women’s Rugby.

WXV 1 is set to be hosted in New Zealand, while WX3’s host is yet to be named. WX2, will see six teams battle it out on South African fields in the Western Cape.

“Participating teams will include the top three teams from the Women’s Six Nations (Europe) and the top three teams from the World Rugby Pacific Four Series (Rugby Americas North/Oceania). Each team will play three matches.”—SA Rugby.

Source: SA Rugby
Don’t ever miss the Good Things. Download the Good Things Guy App now on Apple or Google
Have something to add to this story? Please share it in the comments or follow GoodThingsGuy on Facebook & Twitter to keep up to date with good news as it happens, or share your good news with us by clicking here or click the link below to listen to the Good Things Guy Podcast with Brent Lindeque – South Africa’s very own Good Things Guy. He’s on a mission to change what the world pays attention to, and he truly believes there’s good news around us. In the Good Things Guy podcast, you’ll meet these everyday heroes & hear their incredible stories:

Or watch an episode of Good Things TV below, a show created to offer South Africans balance in a world with what feels like constant bad news. We’re here to remind you that there are still so many good things happening in South Africa & we’ll leave you feeling a little more proudly South African.

Facebook Comments

About the Author

Ashleigh Nefdt is a writer for Good Things Guy.

Ashleigh's favourite stories have always seen the hidden hero (without the cape) come to the rescue. As a journalist, her labour of love is finding those everyday heroes and spotlighting their spark - especially those empowering women, social upliftment movers, sustainability shakers and creatives with hearts of gold. When she's not working on a story, she's dedicated to her canvas or appreciating Mother Nature.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *